Weekend Preview – ‘Good Good Night’

He’s baaaaaack….  I know, I have not been keeping on my blog responsibilities to start this college hockey season off. I have been pre-occupied with trying to finish off my MBA while working my full-time job.  This takes up the majority of my time so I was not able to preview the Icebreaker Championship. The only reason I am writing this post is because I can’t sleep.  It must be that I’m excited for this upcoming series against the Bemidji State Beavers that has me losing sleep.

What have I been up to this offseason? Well, I’m glad you asked.  Just been doing a little of this…

UQqhCAHbtTYhEIH9IDYCEpyPwV7X0AZajjWM03e7Ja4

Got married

20150523_090040

Golfed

IMG_3304

Golfed some more

IMG953063

and golfed some more

I truly hope everyone else enjoyed the offseason as well.

Last weekend UND had a slow start against LSSU on Friday night.  No one expected a goal against 11 seconds into the season. It was waved off but LSSU capitalized on the momentum and scored the first 2 goals on the opening 4 shots of the game.  With Cam Johnson holding down the crease, it seemed like a continuation of his shaky showing of last year.  Luckily for Cam and the team he calmed down and only let in 1 goal on the next 41 shots on the weekend.  Impressively, he turned a nightmare start into NCHC goaltender of the weekend honors.  North Dakota came back against LSSU on Friday night and scored 5 unanswered goals to show Lake Superior wasn’t in their stratosphere.

It’s tough for me to comment extensively on the series as it was only via radio extraordinaire Tim Hennessy that I could listen.  There was no tv feed or webcast, get it together Maine. We’re in the 21st century, it’s called a TV and the other 49 states have access to them.  But from the highlights I saw in North Dakota Hockey with Brad Berry the team looked fast, aggressive and surprisingly enough, fluid.  There was a lot of nice passing plays that you generally don’t see until around Christmas Break or after.  This team seems to have some nice chemistry, especially between the 1st round picks Nick Schmaltz and Brock Boeser.

#1 University of North Dakota vs. Bemidji State Beavers (Home-and-Home)

In case you forgot, last year Bemidji State Beavers ran roughshod over the UND hockey team to open the season last year.  This was followed by a tight checking win by North Dakota in Bemidji that resulted in a series split.

This year’s version of the Beavers will be just as hard to solve.  Bemidji is coming off an opening 3-2 win over University of Minnesota Duluth who is thought to be one of the top teams in the country to start the year.  BSU seems to be regularly underappreciated to start seasons.  Let’s just pray that Brad Berry is making sure his guys don’t make the same mistake.

On Friday night, it will be important for UND to find the net to not let the BSU get comfortable similar to Maine last weekend.  Despite outshooting the Black Bears 45-20 the green and white could only muster a 1-1 tie.  The silver lining to all of this is that once the good guys start finishing, they will put a whole mess of goals.

So here’s to hoping tomorrow is a ‘Good Good Night'(Disclaimer: I am a shameless hip-hop fan, apologies if you don’t share my proclivity for this type of music):

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

